Second phase of the Richard H. Driehaus Architecture Competition announced

The Richard H. Driehaus Architecture Competition promotes the practice of architecture and urbanism according to the preservation and continuity of local traditions. In this way, this competition, which in this edition acquires an international dimension with regard to the possible applications, rewards and disseminates proposals based on the architectural tradition of the place, with a predominance of traditional solutions that allow the promotion of sustainable and socially integrating practices that are committed to
Spanish cultural heritage.

The competition comprises two phases, of which the second has already been announced, consisting of an international ideas competition organized by the Ministry of Public Works. Aimed at international architectural teams, entries can be submitted until 17 March 2019. The proposals of the participants must be developed on any of the four sites selected in the first phase of the competition, called in this case by INTBAU last January and in which several Spanish municipalities competed by presenting possible themes and sites.

Call for entries and competition rules

KALAM highlights this initiative within the activities promoted by The Richard H. Driehaus Charitable Lead Trust and INTBAU, in the promotion and preservation of traditional architecture and craft trades. Through the EKABA Foundation, we also collaborate with these institutions by supporting other initiatives such as the Rafael Manzano Prize for New Traditional Architecture, the Richard H. Driehaus Building Arts Awards or the Summer Schools on Traditional Architecture.

More information about Driehaus Foundation

More information about INTBAU

Other recent calls of Driehaus Foundation and INTBAU

Image source: